is proud to honor

Richard K. Smucker and
the J.M. Smucker Company

as the recipient of the 7th annual Maltz Heritage Award for being a force of positive change in the community

is proud to honor

Richard K. Smucker and the J.M. Smucker Company

as the recipient of the
7th annual Maltz Heritage Award for being a force of positive change in the community

Committed to building bridges of understanding between people of all faiths, races and cultures, the Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage celebrates individuals whose leadership, vision and humanity have changed our region for the better.

The annual Maltz Heritage Award recognizes individuals who have left an indelible mark on our community. This year we are honored to recognize Richard K. Smucker and The J.M. Smucker Company for their commitment to philanthropy and community engagement and for helping transform Northeast Ohio. Richard is a purpose-driven leader whose family’s reputation for integrity and decency has been the key to Smucker’s staying power.

Past award recipients include: Beth E. Mooney (2019), Christopher Connor (2018), Audrey and Albert Ratner (2017), Barbara Snyder (2016), Milt and Tamar Maltz (2015), Sandy Cutler (2014), and Toby Cosgrove (2013)

Thank you to our Donors

David Schafer

Managing Director,
Maltz Museum of
Jewish Heritage

In this unprecedented time, sponsors of the Maltz Heritage Award allow us to feel confident that we will be able to continue the meaningful work of the Maltz Museum in the year ahead. Thank you for your unwavering support of our mission to educate and empower people of all faiths and backgrounds to stand up against hate and speak out for diversity and inclusion. 

Presenting Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors

Esther & Hyman Rapport
Philanthropic Trust

Audrey & Albert Ratner

Emily & Richard Smucker

Gold Sponsors

Grant & Jennifer Dinner
Jordan & Jennifer Goldberg

Larry & Cathy Goldberg

Alan & Karen Krause
Norma Lerner

The McHale Family Foundation

Gary Oatey, Oatey Co.
Steve & Penni Weinberg

Silver Sponsors

Richard Bogomolny & Patricia Kozerefski
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland Cavaliers
Cleveland State University
Cohen & Company
William & Mary Conway
Mary Ann Corrigan-Davis
Sandy & Sally Cutler
Cuyahoga Community College
Dollar Bank
Dworken & Bernstein Co., L.P.A.
Irving and Gloria Fine Foundation

Reuben Gobezie, MD,
Regen Orthopedics
Alan & Lori Gottlieb,
Jeffrey & Jodi Gottlieb,
Jerry & Susan Gottlieb
Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP
Jay L. Henderson
Jones Day
Walter & Jean Kalberer
Legacy Capital Partners

Nancy W. McCann & Russell Trusso

McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA
Medical Mutual
Northern Trust
Oswald Companies
The Sherwin-Williams Company
James & Myrna Spira
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
Tom Sullivan
Ellen & Dan Zelman

Bronze Sponsors

AB Bernstein
Bober, Markey & Fedorovich
Catholic Diocese of Cleveland
The Cleveland Museum of Art
Barry Feldman & Paul Wehn
Gallagher & Associates
Garvin, Goldman & Arnold
Ida & Irwin Haber

Ann Harlan & Ronald Neill

Israel Bonds
The Lubrizol Corporation
MAI Capital Management
The NRP Group
Richard W. & Pat Pogue
Larry & Julia Pollock
James & Susan Ratner
Anita & Michael Siegal

Tom & Anna Bain Slater 

Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
University Hospitals
Ursuline College
Reid & Susi Wagstaff
Daniel and Molly Walsh
Vanessa L. Whiting
Zenith Systems

Thank You to our Community Partners

Ira & Sherry Feuer
Armin & Charlotte Guggenheim

Jewish Family Service Association of Cleveland

Stewart Kohl

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Steven Hacker Films

Jerry Sue Thornton

United Way of Greater Cleveland
Charles & Joan Whitehill z"l

z”l of blessed memory

See the tribute book from our partners and sponsors

Thank you to our Co-Chairs, Honorary Chairs, Host Committee, and Board of Trustees


Brent Ballard, Paul Dolan, Beth Mooney

Honorary Chairs

Richard Bogomolny and Patricia Kozerefski, Michael Cogan, Chris Connor, Dr. Toby Cosgrove, Sandy and Sally Cutler, Todd Diacon, John Ettelson, Chris Gorman, André Gremillet, Jimmy and Dee Haslam, Alex Johnson, Alan and Karen Krause, Norma Lerner, Dr. Tom Mihaljevic, The Rev. Dr. Otis, Jr., and Mrs. Edwina Moss, Gary Oatey, Larry and Julia Pollock, Audrey and Albert Ratner*, Ronald and Bess Richard, Harlan Sands, Barbara R. Snyder, Steve and Penni Weinberg

Host Committee

Kevin Adelstein, Mitchell Balk, Lee Banks, Dr. Ronnie Bell, Susan  Bichsel, Ph.D., Robin Blossom, Frank Buck, Rick Buoncore, Marc  Byrnes, Ronald B. Cohen, Michele Connell, William and Mary Conway, Mary Ann Corrigan-Davis, Greg Cowan*, Sister Christine De Vinne, OSU, PhD, Grant and Jennifer Dinner*, Gregg A. Eisenberg, William  Elliott, Kelly Falcone-Hall, Umberto Fedeli, Barry Feldman and Paul Wehn, Gloria Fine, Douglas Fortney, Dr. and Mrs. Hiroyuki Fujita, Patrick Gallagher, Barry Garvin*, Dr. Reuben Gobezie, Jordan and Jennifer Goldberg, Larry and Cathy Goldberg, Lois  Goodman*, Alan and Lori Gottlieb, Jeffrey and Jodi Gottlieb, Jerry and Susan Gottlieb, William Griswold, Armin and Charlotte  Guggenheim, Ida and Irwin Haber, Ann Harlan and Ronald Neill, Lawrence Hatch, Jill Friedman Helfman, David and Rebecca Heller, Jay L. Henderson, David and Nancy Hooker, Carole Hoover, Walter and Jean Kalberer, Ira and Amy Kaplan, Richard C. Klein, Dr. Roger and Marlene  Klein, Robert J. Klonk, Heather Lennox, Keith and Nancy Libman*, Ken and Gail Liffman*, Dennis A. Linden, CPA, Thomas Lockshin, Alex Machaskee , Nancy W. McCann, Stephen McHale, Darrell and Ronna McNair, Randy Myeroff, Augie Napoli, Linda Olejko, Lawrence E. Oscar, Patrick M.  Pastore, Richard W. and Pat Pogue, Dr. Robert D. Rasmussen, James and Susan Ratner, David Reynolds, Sean Richardson, Irv Rosner*, Mark Ross, Steve and Ellen Ross, Erika Rudin-Luria, Nancy Lopez Russell, Mark J. Sack, Mitchell Schneider, Chad and Stefanie Schreibman, Marla and Joe Shafran, Alex Shumate, Anita and Michael Siegal, Drs. Daniel Simon and Marcy Schwartz, Scott Simon, Tom and Anna Bain Slater, James and Myrna Spira, David  St. Pierre, Tom Sullivan, J. Mark Sutherland, Terry Szmagala, Jerry Sue Thornton, Russell Trusso, Brian Tucker, Jennifer L. Vergilii, Reid and Susi Wagstaff, Dan and Molly Walsh, Phil and Peggy Wasserstrom, Jeffrey Weaver, Paul  Wellener, Craig Owen White, Karen White, Vanessa L. Whiting, Jeffrey J. Wild, Steven and Judy Willensky, Ellen and Dan Zelman*, Adam Zelwin*
*denotes planning committee

Maltz Museum Board of Trustees

Grant Dinner, Chair

Milton Maltz, Chair Emeritus

Tamar Maltz, President

Robert Gries, Vice Chair

Reneé Chelm, Vice President

Keith Libman, Vice President

James Gomez, Treasurer

Barbara Miller, Secretary

Lisa Backlin
Joe Cimperman
Ronald B. Cohen
Mary Ann Corrigan-Davis
Jordan Goldberg

Lois Goodman

David Katz
Alan M. Krause
Kenneth B. Liffman
Darrell McNair

Larry Pollock

Albert B. Ratner

Barbara Robinson
Enid Rosenberg
Irv Rosner

Phil Wasserstrom
Daniel Zelman
Adam Zelwin

Adele Silver, Honorary Trustee
The Rev. Dr. Otis Moss, Jr., Trustee Emeritus

Ex Officio

Rabbi Jonathan Cohen,
The Temple-Tifereth Israel

Jeff Kaplan,
Friends of the Maltz Museum

Barry Reis,
Erika Rudin-Luria,
Jewish Federation of Cleveland

David Schafer,
Maltz Museum of
Jewish Heritage

The Maltz Museum is supported by Cuyahoga Arts & Culture, Jewish Federation of Cleveland, and Ohio Arts Council

© 2020 Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage